top of page
Search
  • Lolo Jane

Singleness Part 2 - Pure Love

In the last blog, we left off by talking about several ideas and came to a few realizations. Such as; the wrongs of getting closer to God in preparation for someone else, how to desire only Jesus, recognizing peace after a breakup, and the hope that you will soon take off your blinders with a restored mind of no longer wanting someone back- a LOT to take in. Leading me to my reason for making a part 2, not to overwhelm you too much in one blog.


I want to talk about PURE love. What does pure love look like?


When we think of God’s love, we think of 1 Corinthians 13, right?


“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.”


Now, THIS is God’s love. Because God IS love.


This is perfect love. In other words, it is unflawed, pure love. Due to sin, no human can ever perfectly master this love every single second of their life as God can.


When you hear “God is love”, what do you think of? Do you attach your mother's love to help define that? Maybe a really good relationship you had? If so, stop. It was designed to be the other way around. Attach God’s love to your relationships. Define love by what God says it is, not how you have experienced it in the world.


From this thought of love, I thought of relationships. Now my thoughts have gravitated towards singleness and the times that I have been single. What does that mean exactly, to be single? I remembered how even if I am dating someone or engaged to be married, I fill out my taxes as “single” because legally, I am not bound to another person.


Until marriage, the only person you are bound to is God. In God’s eyes, you are still single. Felt like a slap in the face, right? “But I’m not single, I’m going to marry him!”


Given this idea, I had this random thought that I actually wrote down in my Letters To God journal. If I bind myself to someone else before marriage or put anyone else before God (inside or outside of marriage), I am committing adultery. I am essentially cheating on God. (The 10 commandments tell us that if you study them!)


When you bind yourself to someone else outside of his covenant, you are cheating on Him. Then I thought, why would anyone want to cheat on God?


His love is pure. I want you to really meditate on that. There is no lust, lies, deceit, confusion, dirtiness. All of those relationships that have left you feeling lied to, confused, dirty, lustful. Every mistake you have made that have left you feeling dirty, confused, and lustful. NONE of that is in the love that God gives you. His love is without impurities.


I know His love is not a romantic one but isn’t that the point? His love is pure. It is without the possibility of impurities. I am not saying to not be in a relationship with someone by any means. I am saying that before you do, you need to truly understand what His love looks like and how to stay loyal to it during a relationship. My hope is that after reading this blog, you can begin your journey to understanding true love and then deciding whether you are ready to reciprocate that love.


I want you to grasp something very very important. PLEASE listen to this.

DO NOT, please do not, think that any human can represent God’s love to the full extent that it is. You will have such a humanistic view of God’s love if you define it by the way a human loves you. You will LIMIT His love. We fail so often at representing God's love.


You will never be able to fully (to the extent that full can be shown on Earth) experience the PURE and heavenly love that God has for you if you label love in a humanistic definition. You will blame God for human actions. You will label His love with the failures of human love.


For example, let’s say that someone tells you that they love you so much and that because of that love, they will never leave you. God says this too, right? Through Moses in Deuteronomy, He says, “I will never leave you, nor forsake you”. So, say this person leaves. Now because of that abandonment, those words make you hesitant.


The difference is that God is pure and honest and man is sinful. It’s not even just that we are sinful it’s that we do not always know God’s plan so we can’t speak for it. BUT God knows the ultimate plan and with that knowledge He tells you, I never leave you in that plan. I NEVER DO. His love is HONEST and ALL-KNOWING. Who better to have a relationship with than someone who offers you, PURE love knowing exactly what love is?


I want to end this with something I have just read a week after writing this blog. It rests in Psalm 48.


“O God, we meditate on Your unfailing love.”


Many would skip right past that verse. They wouldn’t meditate on it. We skip past verses without really thinking about their intentionality. I want you to take this time to resist doing that with this one.


What does it mean to meditate? It means to think deeply about something. To FOCUS on it. Can we keep our focus on God’s love? I want you to think of all the times that “love” has failed you.

Now imagine love never failing you. Think about that. Meditate on that. Focus on that. That’s God's love. Focus on that every day of your life.


733 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


hayleighkuznitz
Oct 12, 2021

this was so so good!!!! 💕 definitely eye opening!

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page