top of page
Search
  • Lolo Jane

Face to Face with Jesus

Has worship ever felt like a performance to you? Has praying ever felt unintentional? Maybe even writing to God has felt like a journal entry to yourself. For me, I resonate a lot with the last one. As I've accumulated a stack of “Letters to God” journals over the years, I often catch myself writing “God” as if that’s not who I am writing to. For example, “God told her this…” forgetting that I am literally writing to God so more proper would be “You told her this…”. Anyways, let me explain the only thing I could think of to help this.


It’s actually a really simple concept…


Okay, right now imagine yourself worshipping, praying, or even writing to God. Now, as you are singing those words, speaking those prayers, and writing that letter, imagine Jesus’ face literally right in front of you. How much harder is it to make worship a performance when you are literally imagining Jesus in front of you as if you are singing the words to Him. It’s much harder to mistake “you” with “God” when you are imagining His face as you write to Him like you are having a conversation with Him (because you are). 


What makes this realistic?


Well, because He IS literally right in front of your face. He is always with you, hears every prayer, and reads every letter before you write them. 


To be more intentional and personal with your conversations to Jesus, literally imagine Him there with you as you are talking to Him. Try it for a week.


“As they walked along they were talking about everything that had happened. As they talked and discussed these things, Jesus himself suddenly came and began walking with them. But God kept them from recognizing him. He asked them, “What are you discussing so intently as you walk along?” They stopped short, sadness written across their faces (Luke 24:13-17) (then they "ranted" to God not realizing it was Him)….Suddenly, their eyes were opened, and they recognized him. And at that moment he disappeared! They said to each other, “Didn’t our hearts burn within us as he talked with us on the road and explained the Scriptures to us? (31-32)”

186 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


osasonaisokpunwu04
osasonaisokpunwu04
Sep 29, 2022

This is so awesome...I relate so much to this because sometimes even when I write in His presence, I sometimes forget that He IS right there in front of me, beside me, inspiring me to write down that which He helps me to write for His glory...sometimes I forget about those things in the midst of of just merely trying to be present with Him:).

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page