top of page
Search
  • Chloe Howard

Promises

Throughout the history of the world God has time and time again fulfilled His promises to us yet time and time again we continue to doubt them. There is complete evidence (hint hint, Jesus) that God will keep His word in every way but we continue to turn our backs when He tries to help us. Many people including myself have been torn to pieces by this reckless world.


We have all experienced pain whether that be heartache, death, grief, depression, anxiety, eating disorders, or even physical pain. In the midst of the pain, God comes through every single time and allows our dark situations to be turned to light. When we take the matters into our own hands it becomes more disastrous than it started so why do we continue to doubt God when His solutions and PROMISES are absolutely perfect? Sometimes the fix to our problem is not what we want but that is what God wants. Not only does He want it but He promises it is good. We may not understand His promises at first and that is okay. We will never be able to fully grasp the concept of our perfect almighty God so we have to have faith. Faith that His promises are perfect. Looking back on history, they have never failed us.


I recently just suffered heartache unlike anything I had ever felt. It was only a six month relationship but goodness did it wreck me. He promised me he would never leave my side. He promised me a future together. He promised me a life reflecting Christ. He promised to always try and lead me towards the Father yet he failed at all of those “promises”. I couldn’t wrap my mind around the fact that someone that “loved me” would just leave so quickly without any hesitation. Many nights were filled with tears that could fill an ocean. I turned back to the ways of my old life just to numb for five quick minutes. Drinking, vaping, and smoking weed slowly started making its way back into my life. I knew the coping I was doing was wrong but I was too scared to ask God for forgiveness and true help once again. I slowly started to learn that God is not like my ex. He is not like these humans here on earth that continuously fail me. He keeps His word and does all in the best interest of His kingdom. God will never not keep His word and that is something I am learning day by day.


I asked God why He had to take my ex out of my life to better His kingdom. Why ask Him that, though? Because God KNEW exactly what needed to be done so that I could continue to glorify Him the best way possible. I asked the Lord to always keep my eyes focused on Him and He kept His promise to me. He took out any distraction that was interfering with His kingdom. At the moment we may not be able to see why God does the things He does but in the end it is what is best for our heart and for His kingdom. God doesn’t need us. But God wants every part of us and that is such a beautiful reality and truth to live in.


523 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page